Tuesday, July 14, 2015

Traveler by Dennis W. Green Blog Tour with Review and Giveaway!


Hello, dear readers, and welcome to my tour stop for Traveler by Dennis W. Green! Traveler is an adult science fiction novel. The tour runs July 6 – July 17 with reviews, interviews, guest posts and excerpts. Check out the tour page for the full schedule. Read on to learn more about the book, the author, and my review! Be sure to enter to win a copy of the book (see the Rafflecopter below)

About the Book:

Blending mystery, police procedural and sci-fi, Traveler is a thriller in the tradition of Daniel Suarez and Dean Koontz, with just a dash of Jim Butcher.

Police detective Trav Becker can travel between parallel realities. So can other versions of him. And one is systematically killing every Trav he can find.

Trav must fight to keep the very fabric of time itself from unwinding as he hunts the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.





----------------
About the author:
Specialization is for insects.

Ask someone how they know Dennis Green and you might get any one of the following: Writer, DJ, actor, MC, swimmer, teacher, reporter, tech geek, husband, or dad. So it’s little wonder his favorite expression is the above quote by Robert Heinlein’s spacefaring immortal, Lazarus Long.A popular radio personality in his native Iowa, Dennis’s adventures as a DJ were covered by newspapers from Anchorage to Los Angeles. He has also worked on the stage, TV, and independent film. He is one of the Midwest’s most popular MC’s, hosting dozens of events each year.

Dennis’s first novel, the sci-fi detective thriller, Traveler, ranked in the Top Ten in the 2014 Ben Franklin Independent Publishing awards, and has a 4.9 review average on Amazon.. Prisoner is the second volume of the Traveler Chronicles, and will be out in the summer of 2015. Trav Becker’s saga concludes in the final volume of the trilogy, Hunter, which is due in 2016.

Dennis’s writing has appeared in the anthology Sadistic Shorts, magazines including Grift and Romance and Beyond, as well as his own blog at denniswgreen.com. He also writes for and edits the triathlon news site heartofamericatri.com.

By day, he is the general manager of Iowa’s only jazz radio station, KCCK-FM. And if it’s 5:30 am, you can probably find him in the pool, working out with the Milky Way Masters swim club.


-------------------------------------
Review:
This was a really interesting concept that I felt lost a little in the execution. I'll be the first to admit, I love sci-fi and can go either way on time-travel stories, but this concept definitely caught my attention. It's not often that you really delve into stories that break the paradigm of "not running into yourself" and pull it off in a way that works. This book definitely was able to accomplish that. I would recommend this book, but I did feel that there was one major drawback, at least for me, in that the author tended to "tell" instead of "show" a lot of the things that were happening. You would have a character "over explain" concepts that would have been more powerful if you were able to experience them. But other than that, I really enjoyed this book, I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars just because it was a little hard to stay immersed in the story due to all the "telling," but it was a strong concept and was pulled off in such a way that kept me reading.
-------------------------------------

Giveaway:
$50 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
Ends 7/21
prizing is provided by the author, bloggers are not responsible

a Rafflecopter giveaway
This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.


Saturday, June 27, 2015

Day 1,000

The reason this blog post is titled "Day 1,000" is because that is how many days I have had a headache, in a row.  Not the same headache, thankfully. But each and every day of the past 1,000 days, I have had at least one headache (I go through cycles of waking up with a headache daily and then occasionally having at least one other throughout the day - every now and then I don't wake up with a headache, but that is rare). Some of you know, some of you do not, but I had four seizures back in late September of 2012. (Never had had them before. Thankfully haven't had any since.) The last thing I remember is the wee hours of the morning Thursday going into Friday. And then, the next thing I remember is waking up in the hospital on Saturday, which was October 1st. Every day since then, I've had daily headaches. And on top of that, they are migraines. Every day. It feels like a steel rod from the front of my head to the back of my head just right of center. Sometimes I get auras. Sometimes they're unbearable. Sometimes they're tolerable and don't affect my day too much. But collectively, they are exhausting. I'll have the occasional tension headache still as well (a tight band at the base of my skull/top of my neck). (The ultimate "cause" of my seizures was just determined to be I had run myself down to the point of exhaustion and my body/brain said, "Enough!"  No tumors. No physical reason has shown up on any of the multitude of tests I had at the time and since from three different neurologists. The second one I saw told me she thinks the additional electrical impulses of the seizures "triggered" something that is causing the headaches, but have never gotten a clear-cut explanation beyond that.) I've tried various preventative medicine regimens, to no effect, and I have medicines for when they happen, which takes care of them more times than not. But I keep having them every. single. day. Granted, by my own admission, I haven't been back to the neurologist in a couple months and did not try all treatment options that the most recent one had on her "list," but to be honest, I kind of got to a point where I was fed up with feeling like I was not getting anywhere. I know it is not going to change on its own, but after CranioSacral massages and a number of medicines that are not effective as preventatives, it's been rather discouraging.  I'm thankful that I don't have a tumor. I'm thankful that I don't have a worse medical condition, but I am frustrated that my quality of life is being affected by this. Most days, I would rate my level of pain around a 4 out of a 10-point scale. But the days where I have a headache that is around a 7 out of 10, those are harder to take. Thankfully, those don't happen all that often. I think I'm back to a point now where I'm ready to set up an appointment and see what's next on the "list" to see if I can get some relief. It's just been hard trying things and having them not work. It gets to be tiring and discouraging hoping that the next thing will be "it," and having it not be the case. But, as I said, it's not going to change with doing nothing, unfortunately. Wish me luck that the cycle is broken soon. I would love to have a day without a headache!

[Sorry if this is jumbled... started writing and this is what came out.]

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

(Nearly the) End of May Update

Hello, dear readers! I apologize for taking nearly a month to chat with you. The job that I referred to in my last post had me feeling like I was stuck in a cave for its entirety. It wasn't "bad," per se, but there were a lot of things that I wish had been different throughout the process. At the very least, I made a really good friend out of it -- so, I'll count that as win.  Totally worth it for that!

Otherwise, have started with a new transcription company, and things seem to be going along swimmingly with that! I've not quite found the rhythm with it that I would like, but I'll get there! Now, the test will be to see how project availability fits into everything.

Things have gotten a little bit behind with Nightscape Press, but we're about to turn the corner there. We have five titles all slated for release, in various stages of being complete. Some amazing, amazing books that I'm really excited to share with the world. And we have some projects in the background that I'm equally excited for!   (Shameless promotion: if you haven't yet checked out our books or there's a title you've not yet read, they're all available at our Amazon Nightscape Press Store!)

Other than that, been trying to get back to reading more often. Have definitely let work and life get in the way of time spent with books. I've only completed six books so far since the beginning of the year.  Have a goal of 30 for my Goodreads Challenge.  Going to have to definitely step it up.  I have a few titles that are in the works for upcoming reviews.  So, that will definitely help.

And the other big thing that's going on is we're hoping to move by the end of the summer. Want to get back to Smyrna. Have been keeping an eye on properties and hoping to find one that will be a good fit. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

Anyway, now that I've managed to update most of what's been going on since last we talked, I should really get back to the rest of everything I *should* be doing. Hope this finds you well & look forward to our next chat!  If you feel so inclined, leave me a comment with what's been going on for you lately, what book you're currently reading, and plans for the summer!

Friday, April 10, 2015

Life Moves Quickly While You're Busy Doing Other Things

Not quite the John Lennon lyric, "Life is just what happens to you, While you're busy making other plans" but similar sentiment...  Hard to believe it was January 30th when I last posted. At that time, I was waiting for a training class of what was supposed to be a part-time job, which turned out to be a full-time position. At this point, I don't know how much I want to go into that. What I will say is that there were several misrepresentations about it.  It wasn't all bad, but it definitely wasn't what I thought it was going to be...

I'm kind of in a holding pattern to see what will ultimately happen with said job... but transitioning in some form or fashion.  We'll see how that ultimately turns out.